The Florida Moot Court Team, governed by the Justice Campbell Thornal Executive Board, which is named in honor of the late Florida Supreme Court justice and devoted alumnus, participates in intramural, state and national appellate competitions. close

Final Four Competition

Spring Competition

Originally, the Spring Moot Court Final Four Competition at the College of Law was sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. The competition is named after Raymer F. Maguire, Jr., son of the founder of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A., managing partner of the firm, and alumnus of the University of Florida College of Law. As the oldest law firm in Orlando, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells provided high quality legal services for 80 years.

In the summer of 1998, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. merged with the law firm of Holland & Knight LLP. Accordingly, the spring competition was called the Raymer F. Maguire, Jr. Moot Court Competition, sponsored by Holland & Knight LLP. Holland & Knight LLP is one of the largest law firms in the world with more than 1,100 lawyers practicing in more than 150 areas of law. As the largest firm in Orlando, Holland & Knight LLP is dedicated to providing both superior legal services and substantive public services. For 24 years, Holland & Knight LLP and Maguire, Voorhis and Wells, P.A. were the proud sponsors of the Maguire Competition.

Fall Competition

The Fall Moot Court Final Four Competition at the College of Law was sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Zimmerman Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A. With a commitment to client focused service and professional excellence, the firm was established in 1984, in Orlando, Florida, by Bernard J. Zimmerman, Wendell J. Kiser and Roland A. “Jerry” Sutcliffe. Zimmerman Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A. has earned a respected reputation within the business and legal community as a firm that provides the highest caliber of legal counsel and delivers exceptional results with innovative, cost-effective and thorough representation. Zimmerman Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A. has been consistently recognized as one of the largest law firms in Central Florida since 1989, having nearly 40 attorneys practicing in the areas of corporate, tax, real estate, litigation, bankruptcy & creditors’ rights, estate planning & probate and workers’ compensation. For the 23rd consecutive year, Zimmerman Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A. is the proud sponsor of the Fall Moot Court Competition.

Annual Competition

The Justice Campbell Thornal Moot Court Board holds an annual intramural competition each summer. This change from biannual competitions to a single annual competition was made to conform to the single fall entering class. The intramural competition affords rising 2L law students the opportunity to compete for membership on the Moot Court Team. Competitors submit an appellate brief and argue the case twice before a mock tribunal. Of those selected for the team, the top four competitors are chosen to compete in the annual Moot Court Final Four Competition. Holland & Knight LLP and Zimmerman, Kiser & Sutcliffe, P.A. are both proud sponsors of this year’s annual Moot Court Final Four Competition.